2015 Winners

2015 Woman in Transition Winners

The Woman in Transition committee received 15 applications. We awarded six $1000 scholarships. The applicants ranged in age from 25 to 67. Fourteen were from Wright State University and 1 was from Sinclair Community College. Each submitted a letter explaining the transition in her life along with the application and an official transcript.
  • Michele Baldwin lives in Beavercreek and attends Sinclair studying respiratory therapy, She has 3 children and is involved in her church. She thinks the scholarship will become a part of her investment in the community as she strives to improve the cardiopulmonary health of our residents.
  • Emily Buerschen lives in Bellbrook and attends Wright State where she studies anatomy and biological, chemical, radiological, and nuclear defense. She is the head tennis coach at Bellbrook High School and works for Miami Valley Hospital as a Care Flight Air Traffic Controller. Among several volunteer activities was an EMT for the University of Dayton.
  • Jody Hayes lives in Beavercreek and attends Wright State. She is a middle childhood education student and looks forward to teaching young minds and to be able to say that she finished something she started after she graduates next year. She has 4 children ages 13, 11, 8, and 3.
  • Tessa Miracle also lives in Beavercreek and attends Wright State. She is a BHS graduate and is studying applied behavioral sciences. She hopes to pursue research focusing on behavioral health care and participate in research evaluating efficacy of implementing different treatment models.
  • Pamela Nelson was awarded one of our scholarships last year. She still lives in Beavercreek, is a BHS graduate, and is studying nursing at Wright State. She says that career fits her personality and offers job security. She works part-time as a fitness instructor and volunteers with her 2 children’s sports.
  • Kenna Rodriquez is from Xenia and a student at Wright State majoring in psychology. She has 1 child. One of her volunteer activities is providing emergency child care for foster children.
These winners may use the award for tuition, books, or lab fees. We have invited them to come to a BWL meeting so we can meet them in person. From 2000-2015 we have awarded $69,500 to our WiT winners. 
WiT Committee:   Mary Waite, Linda McLarty, Carolyn Tipps
                                 (Elaine Mercurio and Past President Toni White were unable to attend.)

2015 Beavercreek High School Scholarship Winners

On May 18 at the high school awards program Toni White announced the winners of the BWL scholarships. All three were highly recommended by the school members on the interview committee. Each completed an application and an interview by teachers, counselors, and a community volunteer. Each received $2000 for tuition, books, or lab fees.  
  • Sarah Christy is enrolled at Wright State in mass communication. At BHS she was the editor of the school paper, played tennis, and was in Interact, a service club. She graduated with a 3.5 GPA. 
  • Felicia Pagett plans to attend Ohio University and major in Child Life (Therapy through Play). She had a 3.6 GPA and at BHS was in Link Crew, Network, and Spectrum. She also volunteers at Children’s Hospital. 
  • Kelsey Sedlock will attend Wright State in pre-med and plans to become an orthodontist. She played soccer for 4 years and will continue to play soccer at WSU. She graduated with a 4.1 GPA.